Final Project Proposal

Saturday, April 27th, 2013

For this final project I plan to write a revised version of a combination of the second and third writing projects. For my second project, I discussed the novel Frankenstein in terms of mutability, and for my third project, I discussed the increasingly mutable technological writing medium. I would like to discuss how these two ideas are related and how writers are becoming similar to Frankenstein himself in stitching together old modes of writing to create a new creature out of what has come before. Also, I would like to examine the electronic Frankenstein website and discuss the mutability of the text and its usefulness as a new media text. In doing so, I would like to examine how the writer must learn from Frankenstein and exercise caution in sending his creature out into the world, keeping in mind the pitfalls of technological writing media.
To revise my rhetoric, I plan to work on taking an approach in applying Frankenstein to new media discussion. I plan to incorporate some of the methods that Joseph Harris addresses in the fourth chapter of Rewriting: “acknowledging influences,” “turning an approach on itself,” and “reflexivity.” These terms as a whole refer to the process of incorporating critical views into one’s own writing and adding to the discussion of a topic. Ultimately, I want to work more with addressing the critical perspectives that I incorporate into the text and examining where my own perspective fits into this discussion.
In terms of style, for this project’s revision, I would like to work on the variety of my sentences and clauses. I have a tendency to write longer sentences, relying on phrases such as this one to extend my sentences and ideas. This style works well, but I want to experiment with different types of phrases and clauses and work on varying my sentence length. As for grammar, I would also like to vary my sentences in order to avoid the use of “is” and passive sentence phrasing. Overall, I just want to work on rewriting my sentences using different constructions and working to make more active and interesting sentences.

Leave a comment